An Ode to the Greatest Man I Know

Who is my dad? My dad is a kind and loving man with more wisdom and knowledge than any book ever written. He’s a man with high morals and the strongest work ethic I’ve ever witnessed. He is the kind of man that would literally give you the shirt off his back if you needed it. In my three decades of life, I’ve met many men who call themselves fathers – but I’ve yet to meet one as incredible as my own dad.

Father's Day QuoteIn every decision I’ve faced, as a child or adult, I’ve taken solace in knowing that regardless of the outcome, my dad will be there for me in any capacity. I can’t think of any situation where I’ve needed him and he hasn’t been there. His support has gotten me through many obstacles in my life.

 

Just a few of the many times my dad has had my back …

When I got my first job as a dishwasher, he’d leave work to come get me and drive me to my job.

When my car broke down, he would wake up at 6 a.m. and drive me to college – an hour drive one-way, and he’d pick me that same evening and drive me home.

Shortly after I got married I didn’t have health insurance and I needed to go to the health department’s clinic – he met me there because it was in a bad area of town. He sat in the waiting room for well over an hour, just so he could make sure that I made it to my car safely.

Growing up, I thought of my family as anything but normal. I just assumed everyone had a dad like mine. A dad who took the time to shuttle you to and from minimum wage paying jobs, practices and sporting events. A dad sat in the bleachers for hours on end with a smile on his face and a shoulder to cry on when you needed it most.

Some of my favorite memories …

Father's Day Quote 2Playing homerun derby in the back yard until it was dark outside.

The Christmas when he put together my new trampoline in the barn so I could jump even when it was snowing.

All the times in the pool when he’d throw me so high in the air that I could do a flip.

The playhouse he built me that was the envy of every girl in town.

The Christmas Eve when he showed up at my work to tell me he bought me a brand new car for my soon-to-be college commute.

The first time he held my first born child.


My dad has ALWAYS been the man I measure others up to – and he sets the bar pretty damn high. Even through some of the toughest times, I’ve never seen him falter. In situations where many would lose their composure, my father stays calm. He’s the only person I know who can quickly evaluate any situation and generate a list of possible solutions. And on the rare occasion that he’s uncertain, you better bet he’ll find the information he needs – one way or another.

daddy-day

When it comes to morals and ethics – my dad sets the standard. To this day, I’ve never heard him say a bad word about anyone – even when it could be easily justified. He’s incredibly loyal to his family and will bend over backward to help anyone in need. Whether or not he agrees with our decisions, he supports me and my brothers to no avail.

He’s by far the hardest working man I know. As a business owner, he spent days climbing ladders (literally) despite debilitating back and hip pain. I now know that he endured that pain day in and day out so that we could have the kind of life we did.

As a grown woman, wife and mother of two – I can fully appreciate the sacrifices he and my mom made for us kids. We took fun family vacations, ate dinner at the table every night as a family, worked together on our homework at the same table and we had fun. As kids, we never had to worry if mom and dad would be able to provide for us.  We had a roof over our head, food in our bellies, health insurance to ensure regular doctor and dental visits. I never realized the effort and finances it took to provide us with even the most basic essentials until I had to provide them for my children.

This blog post should serve as a testament of what an amazing man my father truly is and hopefully, it will serve as an inspiration to be more like him. The life lessons and characteristics he instilled in me as a child have stuck with me through my teens and adulthood. And if I am successful in passing down even half of the insight and wisdom he gave to me, I will consider my parenting career a success. I’ve applied so many of the lessons that he taught me in my own life.

Happy Father’s Day Dad – I love you always.

One thought on “An Ode to the Greatest Man I Know

Leave a comment